/gen/

(8 KB, 225x225, images.jpg)
My collection just nuked itself. Shitty Toshiba HDD has completely stopped working and is making some janky noises whilst my PC won't even recognize it. An oversight on my part lead me to not have a backup. This truly is the library of alexandria all over again. I had some ancient and obscure stuff on there. I have even considered getting a professional to recover it, but it's a fair chunk of money.

Anyway, time to start a fresh one I suppose. I'm not here to beg (although site rips are welcome), rather, I am after advice. I have a few subscriptions going atm on a number of sites and was wondering what the best software is to download entire sites? I remember back in the day I was able to download one set at a time with bulk image downloader (which I no longer have an up-to-date version of, and which was fairly tiresome) - any advice on how to rebuild is greatly welcomed.

For those that have been around for a while, you might remember me posting under the name Barack Obama many years ago, and uploading frequently to the volafile. Ya'll have shared some absolute gems over the years. Gg guys.
Sorry to hear that. Happened to me 10ish years ago, a 600+ gb collection I started in the late 90s. Too chicken to send it to a data recovery place, mostly because it wasn't just pics and vids on there but my cringe feeder fic writing lol.

Anyway I use an app called Sitesucker, $5 with a pretty straightforward interface.
People still use mechanical drives? I thought the majority switched over to flash storage eons ago.
>>47821

here in the so-called "third world", we still use a lot of hard drives, I myself have about 2 1TB hard drives and about 5 with smaller amounts of storage.
>>47846

Even so it's foolish to not replace your drives every few years. Granted flash storage can go a lot longer, but normally I wouldn't go more than 5 years with mechanical, especially if it contains important files.
>>47864